My Experience with Social Anxiety (Update)

RE… MORE ADDED AT BOTTOM IN NEW COLOR

I do not know if I would diagnose myself with Social Anxiety Disorder but I would most definitely say that I have Social Anxiety.

I was always a shy kid. I would hide behind my parents and grandmother when in the presence of strangers. I did not like meeting new people. I still do not like meeting new people. Growing up the only friends I really had, were the ones my parents set me up with, and it wasn’t many. I had 4 friends, and I considered them all my best friends.

As I went into 7th grade, my friendliness at school grew better but my socialness in public got worse. I could make friends and talk to people at school but in stores, I shrivel up. Whenever teachers call my name in class, I start blushing profusely, and sweating like crazy. I also get serious headaches and cannot concentrate on presentations.

Also, I associate all children with negative connotations. I do not like children, and I do not like being around children.

I was shopping by myself in a store last night and I realized my Social Anxiety as a real problem. I found what I was shopping for and went to check-out. I looked by the checkout counter and there was a group of teenagers crowded just talking. I immediately froze and ran back to the aisle. I could feel my whole body getting hot and my face was extremely red. I froze for 10 minutes. I literally did not move for 10 minutes. I just stood in silence and waited for them to leave. I couldn’t move, it was like I knew what was going on but I could not move. They did not see me or anything but I jut got these negative feelings about them and ran away. After another 10 minutes passed I finally went to checkout and left.

When I got home, I took a test to see if I had S.A.D. (Social Anxiety Disorder) and I came out positive.

I do not know if I would diagnose myself with Social Anxiety Disorder but I would most definitely say that I have Social Anxiety.

December 13

I presented an original poem in front of my class and i made it through to the end and froze. I could hear my siblings laughing in back, that’s just what siblings do. I have two lines left and they were not coming out. I stood like a block again, just for two minutes this time. Finally, the teacher came over and finished off the lines for me.

Leave a Reply

